Hawaii

Hello friends! You could have probably guessed that this was coming soon, but I just wanted to talk about my trip to Hawaii last year!

It was a sort of a graduation gift from my aunt and her family, so I went with all of them to Kahului, Maui, Hawaii. The whole time we were there, we stayed at the Grand Wailea, which is a gorgeous resort! This is an aerial view of the entire resort (I think that’s everything) :

wailea

Although it was very very nice, I would have loved to leave the resort at some point to see the culture in Hawaii. Yup, I’m that nerd. Both of my cousins that I went with love adventure, so they were all over what was offered at the resort. I loved it, too, I just would have liked to see the culture for at least a day.

The food throughout the trip was very good! Not gonna lie, it was pretty expensive, but so is everything in Hawaii. My aunt’s family loves fine dining, so they would order food like sushi or clams and I would order a chicken sandwich. What can I say, nothing beats chicken. Plus, I don’t really like seafood except for shrimp and some sushi.

Of course, we swam in the ocean, but that was not the only thing we did. We got the chance to go surfing and scuba diving. Unfortunately, my body chose those days to become ill, so I was not able to go surfing. I was able to take scuba diving lessons, but I couldn’t actually go scuba diving. I didn’t want to take any chances because you need to be able to breathe pretty well and most of my nose was closed because I was sick. My cousins still went, though, and even though they had fun, they said it wasn’t that clear underwater, so they couldn’t see much. That made me feel a little bit better. 🙂

11855712_1095750100452847_6562590905006478918_n.jpg

Of course, you can’t go to Hawaii without going to a luau! It was an awesome night filled with dancing and talent! I’m sure everybody’s favorite was the guy that spun fire at the end of the night. It was very entertaining to watch!

11143530_1095750843786106_4060028223611143048_n

The worst part of the trip? I got sunburn on the very first day. You can see it in the picture above. I was so excited to get tan, that I got carried away. A lot. My body hurt every night because it pained me to sleep with all the sunburn. I was very red until the end of the trip, when I started to peel. It was not attractive whatsoever. That was the first time I had ever gotten an actual sunburn.

One day, we decided to go on a relaxing trip instead of all this adventuring. I picked the Road to Hana. Although the sights were breathtaking, it was a very very long drive, one in which both me and my aunt were carsick. We only went halfway because we couldn’t take it; we felt horrible.

11058522_1095751120452745_1276280581098827100_n

But the best part? We went ziplining the day before we left. I was a little hesitant at first, but after the first line, I was ready to do flips in the air (sadly, we weren’t allowed to do that)!

11040176_1095751297119394_8467534532773831570_o

Oh yea, one more thing that I think would be worth mentioning: I can’t swim. I have this crazy fear of water for some reason, and I can’t tread water. Even though I can’t swim, I still had a lot of fun in Hawaii!

My goal is to travel to all fifty states throughout my life. Hawaii was one of the harder places to hit, so I’m really glad that I had a chance to experience that! If I’m being honest, it’s probably the best place I have ever been thus far. I was so relaxed when I was there, and the weather was perfect! Safe to say that I have decided where my honeymoon will be. 🙂

13346244_1290512497643272_7934051475872311929_o.jpg

Leave a Reply

