A Reason to Smile

When I woke up today, for the first time in a long time, I felt ready for the day. I was excited to go to classes, see my friends, and then end the day with a cappella rehearsal and, surprisingly, homework.

After getting ready for the day, I went to work, which is what every Monday consists of for me. But during work, I started thinking of everything that I needed to get done (of course, when am I not stressing about what needs to be done). Eventually, I got myself so stressed, that I started to become sad.

All of the negativity that was hidden deep down started creeping back up and overtaking my positive thoughts. The more I thought, the more down I felt. But me being me, I couldn’t stay negative for long.

For those of you that have read my previous posts, you understand how big I am on positivity. So I started picking out why I was feeling sad. I separated it from the positive thoughts. Then I thought of how to conquer that negativity – what could I do to turn it positive? How could I solve the problem I was having? I finally thought of a solution. It took a while, but I found it – I made it work. With all the negativity gone, I started to think about the positives and immediately, my spirit lifted.

This has happened a lot – there’s always only one or two things out of a hundred that bring my mood down. And that’s how it is for most people, too, they just don’e realize it. Don’t let that negative thought slither in between all of the positive ones.

But, if it somehow does (which will happen, it’s inevitable), realize that it’s not your whole life that sucks. It’s just the one thought that’s dragging you down.

After you get rid of it, switch to the positive thoughts. There should always be something that you’re looking forward to, whether it be in 24 hours or within the next week. If you don’t have anything, find something to look forward to. And when you find that something or someone, it will lift your spirits up when you’re feeling down.

For example, today, after I got rid of my negative thought, my mind automatically thought of my a cappella group. We had rehearsal for the first time today since the middle of March and I missed those girls like crazy. I was so excited to get back to singing with them. That was what I was looking forward to. That was my reason to smile.

When you realize that, it’s one step closer to being happier and losing that sad feeling. I know it’s a weird concept, and I’m trying to explain it as best as I can, so hopefully you can grasp what I’m trying to say.

You might have noticed that the title is not a quote. I think this title should be a quote that everyone is familiar with. You should have a reason to smile, whether it be a something or a someone. You may have multiple reasons, your reason may vary from time to time – either way, you should have at least one every day.

The picture that I chose is my a cappella group. You might not be able to see everyone, but I guarantee that we are all laughing. Singing with each other is a reason to smile for every single girl in that group. We pick each other up when we fall down, and that alone should be a reason to smile.

From now on, I will only be posting once a week, most likely on the weekends. I have too much to deal with during the week, so I feel like weekends will be a lot easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

