“Friends are the siblings God never gave us”

Oh how I love school breaks. Fortunately, four of my best friends from high school happened to all be back home today, so we took that opportunity to go out to dinner. It was nice to catch up.

Back in high school, it was rare that we would all be free on the same day, so when it would turn out that we were, we would plan out the entire day, from start to finish. In the end, we would decide to chill at somebody’s house, eat sugar cookies, and talk about our lives all throughout the night.

I do have other friends that I love as much as, if not more than, these four girls. But this group is a special group. In the middle of my junior year of high school, our group split. It was Melanie, Sarah, and Tricia on one side, Kat on the other, and me in the middle (just a heads up, I am using pseudonyms).

I have no idea how the end of our friendship happened. There was no yelling involved, no calling out – it was a quiet build-up, until one day, our friendship kind of vanished. Our connection broke.

For a year and a half, they did not speak to each other. I, on the other hand, continued to speak to both sides. It wasn’t until the end of high school when things started to change.

For Prom, I ended up going with Kat’s group because my date was a mutual friend of ours. It was during after-after-prom, on senior skip day, that she asked me a question about the situation.

“Do you think I should text them?”

I’m not going to lie, that question caught me off guard, mostly because she was the one that had ended things. After going back and forth about how we both felt about it, we decided that she should text them. All three girls felt differently towards her decision and had different responses, but the end result was worth it.

Obviously, we are all friends again. When we talk about it now, we realize that it was a good thing that we took a long break from each other. Looking back at our friendship during the beginning of high school, we never really noticed how toxic it was. We were constantly bringing each other down and acted like a closed circle of friends, not allowing ourselves to hang out with anyone but the five within our group.

Now, we are as close as when we started, except the air is clean of bullshit, to put it bluntly. We’re all at different colleges, but still keep in touch. We’re all close enough to come home every so often, and when we do, we seize the opportunity to catch up.

Our friend group somehow overcame the big schism, which I believe is the greatest feat. Not many friends can come back from something like that, but I guess that just shows how strong our bond is.

The picture above was one that I had taken at the One Direction concert we all went to – well, all of us except for Sarah. I told you we had a toxic friendship, I’m pretty sure you can put the pieces together and form an idea of why.

We had an unhealthy two-year obsession with One Direction, but that was what brought all five of us together, so I don’t regret it one bit. I thought it was fitting to post a picture of the five boys that stole our hearts.

The quote is by Mencius, a Chinese philosopher. I chose it because I see it through these four girls. I can trust them with anything. I can be straightforward with them. I can sit in comfortable silence with them. All because I see them as sisters.

And I do hope they know that.

Leave a Reply

